It’s all about the living.

 

 

Aneathesia. Not 100% sure what happened but I made it to zero! Normally you are asked to count back from 10 and you don’t get past 7. For some reason I kept going, got to zero, and made it very clear I was still around. Not for long though, woke up for a short spell in recovery and then taken along to the ward.

I was incredibly lucky to have my own side room. If you’ve followed this blog from the start you’ll know about previous stays. To be in my own room was AMAZING. Peace, quiet and a tree outside the window.

image

image

 

 

A friend came to visit on Friday morning, breaking the ‘no flower’ rule. So I even had some sweet smelling sweet peas to look at too.

Later, Tracie another one of the Macmillan nurses came to see me because Jane was off. She too was very happy I was in my own room.

‘You’ve got Hotel Charlotte this time’

‘Yes, instead of Mortuary Charlotte’

What she said next has absolutely stuck in my head.

‘Yes, because this is all about the living’

And that sums it up.

I’m not going to live forever. Nor are you. But life is really all about ‘the living’

However you wish that to be.

So I’m living, as best as I can, in as kind a way as I can, in the most worthwhile way I can, for as long as I can.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “It’s all about the living.

  1. Hello, my name’s Anna, we were at school/college together a million years ago (I was Smurthwaite then), I just wanted to let you know how much I’m – not enjoying, appreciating? – your blog. I’ve never read anything like it. I wish you and yours all the very best. And yes, life is for the living xxx

Leave a Reply

