Life after cancer

http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2012/oct/07/life-after-cancer?CMP=share_btn_fb

Above is a great article. It is very hard to explain how the cancer experience changes you. I will never be the same again, physically or mentally. No one sees my scars, no one can tell by looking at me what’s missing, no one can tell the side effects of the surgery; this can be a blessing and a curse. I’m 4 weeks post op tomorrow. I’m still not ‘right’ and perhaps I never will be but I’m not very ‘wrong’ either.

I got my copy of the letter my consultant sent to the GP today. Just before New Year’s my GP rang me and said that a swab that had been taken at my check up had shown signs of mild infection and I was prescribed a course of antibiotics which seem to have done the trick. She also wanted to check on how I was doing on my new anti depressants, which we had changed just before my op. As the article says it is so common for people coming through this to suffer from depression and anxiety. It’s pretty standard! They seem to be working well. I feel mentally pretty good. So good in fact I decided to give up smoking on New Years Day.

The letter states that my vagina is healing well and on examination he believes I won’t be ‘particularly inconvenienced by her surgery from a sexual function point of view’ however ‘ I feel it is entirely possible that the remaining vaginal skin will respond to HPV in a similar way’. As I think I’ve mentioned before I have been in contact with other women who have bits burnt and cut off them for years. I think I will fall into that camp. So I need to dust myself down, crack on with some living, and gird my loins for the next round of check ups. I have a lot of things I want to do and a fair few things I need to do.

Life goes on. Enjoy it everyone.

2 thoughts on “Life after cancer

  1. You are an inspiration to us ladies who are going through the same problems as yourself. I had treatment for VAIN 3 on 23rd December 2015 and can totally understand where you are coming from by reading your posts. I did not even know what VAIN 3 was or if it even existed until I went to the hospital. Most of my knowledge has come from your posts so thank you for the updates and for telling us your story. Please keep strong as life does definitely go on and we should enjoy each day as it come xx

    • Thank you so much for commenting. It really is lovely to know that my ramblings are helpful to people out there. I hope you are recovering from your treatment. What treatment did you have? I hope it’s the end of it for you!

Leave a Reply

