2nd Cancerversary

Just a quick one to mark the day. Members of the cancer community know the anniversary of the date you were diagnosed is always a bit of a tricky one. Do you celebrate it? You certainly will always remember it.

Luckily for me I have something else to celebrate on this day.

2 years ago as my friend and I were sat in a room being told ‘You have cancer but I don’t think you’re fucked’ somewhere else a little girl had been born. I’m sure many babies were born on that day but there was something very special about this one.

This little girl’s birth mum couldn’t look after her. So after a length of time with some lovely foster parents, my friend became her Mum.

I think that’s kind of cool. Both my friend and I will never forget the day her daughter was born even though we never knew she existed at the time.

I was supposed to be one of the referees for the adoption process. I filled out my reference letter but it was decided that because of my situation and major surgery another referee would be given the ‘long interview’

I have to say I thought my friend was barking mad to embark on Motherhood second time round. But I was totally wrong. It makes me so happy to see her so happy.

My friend’s daughter is very special in so many ways and I love them both to bits.

Happy Birthday E. Xxxx

Leave a Reply

