Friday 11th December

I arrived at hospital at 7.25 being dropped off by my friend Debbie. Thanks Debs.

The admission suite is upstairs in the main block of the hospital. Having been at that hospital at so many different times of the day very early in the morning trundling a suitcase behind you heading for an op is a different feeling altogether.

In the admission suite I was quickly seen by a nurse. The other nurse’s I’ve seen there have been competent yet grumpy. This one was lovely. Chat with anesthetist she said I’d be getting local anaesthetic as well as general. This would help with pain relief on waking.

Wait a bit more. Consultant comes over to the guy sat next to me and says ‘now which leg are we doing?’ Bloke rolls up his trouser leg and doc proceeds to draw big marker pen cross on his knee which made me smile!

Get given some drugs by Jolly nurse and told I’m first on the list. Hooray!

Nick cones over and says hello, ‘Do you still want to do this?’ Never too late to back out I guess! Tells me a medical student will be joining us and so I mind?

‘As long as he’s not doing it then fine’

Very soon after that I was given gown and wonderful TED stockings and I’m ready to go.

Super lovely man aays he is going to walk me down to theatre. Mr Johnson normally works in theatre 6 which is a quick right left from the admission suite. 6 is also my lucky number. But this is an ‘extra’ operating day for Mr Johnson so we are in a different theatre.

I end up having to walk to the other side of the hospital back to the maternity unit which also houses the gynea dept. My porter/eacorter tells me it’s theatre 9a and if I like he will turn me upside down to make it a 6. He also tells me how highly respected Mr Johnson is and how it’s all going to be fine. There’s been a lot of research apparently about the bebefits of walking to theatre rather than being pushed. It certainly helped calm me down.

Into some doors saying delivery suite.

Met by 3 nurses/anaesthetists who humour my ridiulous comments of ‘oh delivery suite am i having a baby?’

Received the well practised and very slick routine of getting a patient ready. The one on the right talks at you, questions you, busy’s with thermometers and stuff to distract you from the fact the ones on the left are sticking cannulas in you!

I felt like saying ‘I know exactly what you’re up to’ but was pretty happy to play along.

Don’t remember being told I was going under, but next thing I know I’m in recovery about 2hours 15 minutes later.

Leave a Reply

