Vaginectomy

Please do excuse the title of this post. It seems to be a word that isn’t thrown about a great deal. Even spell check wants to change it to vasectomy.  This is probably because it’s rare and grim and most people don’t talk about theirs! My hope by tagging this post is that someone in the future going through the same can find some useful info, or at least a shared experience.

It’s a medical procedure that involves removing the vagina. Search it up on google and you will find FTM (Female to Male) transgender forums discussing the issue. Some factual stuff. But very little in the way of peoples experiences.

I will be having a partial vaginectomy. About an inch and a half will be removed, bearing in mind a fair good whack has already been taken away I am rather concerned about this. The experts who have studied my vagina in very close detail tell me I should have no issues with sex in the future as I still have ‘good capacity’. I rather like sex so this IS kind of important.

The operation takes about 2 hours and it’s expected that I will be in hospital for 2 to 3 days. I was told today that if I had the op in 2 weeks I ‘should’ be recovered by Christmas.

I asked my Mac nurse today if there was anyway I could pay to not be in a room with dying old ladies. There isn’t but she is going to try her best.

No date set yet, but definitely before Christmas and possibly in 2 weeks time. Hopefully when I go to discuss the delights of having more of my vagina removed next Wednesday they will be able to tell me a date.

The very hardest part of all of this is making the decision to have it or not.  When I spoke to my consultant on Wednesday he stated that the MDT (Multi Disciplinary Team) had discussed my….er…..vagina, and were highly recommending this as a course of treatment. But ultimately…..the choice is mine. I’m the sane adult that has to sign the consent form. That’s a huge responsibility.

The thing is this. There are no hard facts out there on percentages of how much VAIN3 turns to cancer, and no one can tell me if mine will turn to cancer. It’s all ifs, buts and maybes. If it was my ear lobe that was precancerous I would have no qualms about having it removed to prevent cancer forming. But its not my ear its my vagina. There still remains a chance that when all that is removed is tested cancer could be found.It could be lurking in there somewhere. Likewise there remains a chance my VAIN may not change into cancer for years if ever.  I think my mind is pretty much made up to go ahead and have it done but a few more discussions need to take place next week.

It’s all a bit bollocks.

One thought on “Vaginectomy

  1. Just a quickie, I have had almost 40 surgeries, it kept coming back and back, have had radical surgery including plastic and losing clitoris, and yes mine has turned to cancer. Has had huge impact on my life, and no it is not mentioned a lot, you dont see fund raising events for vaginas do you, people think it is shameful because of where it is, but no one seems to think that when men get cancer in testicles or anything. We should be encouraging all women to check themselves, to keep up with smears, to ensure they bring any changes to their doctors attention. I hope all goes well for your surgery, that they get clear margins. Personally I am no longer having surgeries as never been cured, but I always encourage others to get rid of if they can.

Leave a Reply

