Phew……

Great news today. My CT scan yesterday (how many people does it take to find a vein ? …… 4) was ‘hot reported’ so I got the results today over the phone.

‘Nothing nasty found but your back has certainly been doing some hard work’

Will still need MRI next week to get a more detailed picture of my lumbar spine.

Now I have that answer I can write about all the things I wanted to write before but was too scared to.

I’ve been doing WAY too much googling. If you’re a fellow CC girl and you don’t want to know ‘stuff’ stop reading now!!

Recurrent cervical cancer is incredibly hard to detect. Yes we all obediently go along for our check ups. But the vast majority of recurrences are found by investigating symptoms. I.e the patient says ‘I’ve got xyz’ rather than them being found at check up.  The symptoms are all rather subtle and one of them is hip/leg/buttock/back pain usually unilateral. Oh HELLO!!!!!!

We still still don’t know exactly whats causing my pain but it would appear that something is pressing on a nerve from my symptoms . What we do know is that ‘something’ isn’t a tumour.

When cervical cancer comes back it is a grim prognosis. This of course is dependant on previous treatment. If you’ve already had radio you can’t have it again. I haven’t so this was an option but it is also dependant on where it comes back. Some places are not suitable for radio even if you hadn’t had it before. There is an operation called a pelvic exteneration. 10% die on the table, 70% die in 5 years and you lose your bladder and rectum….that’s the deal. It’s not an option for the faint hearted. I wouldn’t do it. Cervical cancer is pretty resistant to Chemo. They are trialling different combinations currently, but is very much a palliative measure rather than a cure.

If the ‘something’ pressing on my nerves had been in the lumbar/sacral region and was a recurrent tumour I would of probably been looking at a year,  likewise if it had spread to my bones.

There were times when I’ve felt like a bit of a hypochondriac recently. I knew I had something going on and worked myself up into a ‘oh my god’ worse case scenario frenzy. Do you know what? I don’t care. If we don’t communicate our worries and aches and pains to our medical team how are they ever going to know. I said to my consultant on the phone today. ‘I’m glad there’s something wrong’ because I’d got to the point where I was doubting if the pain was real or I had just freaked myself out so much it was psychosomatic.

My son said ‘I’m not worried about you Mum, you will never be as bad as you were before’

I’m glad he’s not as good at googling as me!

2 thoughts on “Phew……

Leave a Reply

