ISC

Yesterday I was back at RUH for my TWOC (Trying without catheter) appointment. The Urology nurses at Bath are absolutely fantastic. There were 3 men ‘TWOCing’ too. It’s slightly weird as we all know what we are there for, armed with our respective bottles and pans. It’s hard not to look questioningly at someone when they walk back into the waiting area. Everyone starts off very quiet but by the end of the day we were all having a little cheer, or ‘Better Luck next time’ depending on our peeing ability. All the men were post-op for Prostate cancer. A happy little quad of cancer survivors who now just had to learn to pee again.

My first pee was very mediocre. Coming in at about 150 mls. I put this down to the fact that I had emptied my bladder via the catheter on arrival at hospital. It’s a long journey there especially in morning rush hour.

My second wee was a far more respectable 450ml and the flow rate was off the scale.

My third wee was pretty good too measuring 400ml and again with a good flow.

Ann the lovely nurse said that it was all positive. I had a choice. I could go home and come back and be re taught self catherisation if I had any problems or she could teach me again then so I was tooled up ready to go home.

Now if you remember I had huge issues with self catherterising before. Physically I am much more flexible and my swollen stomach is now just fat! I guess no-one really wants to stick something up their uretha but I went with the learn now just in case option. I managed it but voided 400ml of urine. Not good. It would appear that my bladder can’t empty itself properly and I will have to empty it manually 2 or 3 times a day. Technical term Intermittent Self Catherterisation or ISC. My new catheters are longer and I have nicknamed them Mozarellas as they come in a liquid filled packet. I’m doing ok with them.

So I am now ‘under’ urology as well as gyne. Holby City and Casualty viewing will never be the same again.

One thought on “ISC

  1. Honey, your gonna be pissing for England at this rate!

    Massive congrats on your peeing ability my lovely – reading your posts has made me think taking this for granted, you continue to amaze me.

    Rxxx

Leave a Reply

