Public. General and Toilets.

So today a friend took me to a local garden centre for a mosey around and coffee and cake.

I had to have a ‘wee’. At the moment this consists of me standing over the loo holding my tube and flipping the ‘tap’. Holding the tube and letting it flow. I suppose I could sit down but dangling my tube in public toilets probably isn’t the best idea.

As I was standing there I heard another lady come in, and go into the cubicle next to me. I wonder what she thought of the feet of the woman next to her.

She did make a rather hurried exit.

I also encountered my first ‘I’m going to avoid you because I know you’ve had cancer’ moment. The friend I was with has also had more than a brush with cancer. She told me that she has had people actually cross the road when they have seen her coming. Obviously I’ve not been out much, except to hospital/doctors appointments and hadn’t come across this kind of behaviour yet.

But today, someone who knows me pretty well and normally comes up and speaks to me, was also at the garden centre. I am sure he knows of my situation through mutual friends. It was almost comical how I witnessed him stall and be distracted by things so that he didn’t have to walk past us and presumably have to say hello. (He was coming from behind and we were walking slowly).

As we said today. There’s nowt as queer as folk.

2 thoughts on “Public. General and Toilets.

  1. I have to agree with your decision, I think I would be taking my chances without and doing the best I could to improve other areas of my life to lessen the 10% risk.
    If you’re happy with your decision then it’s the right one for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

