4 Week Post Op Update.

Really hard to believe it’s 4 weeks since the Op.

This week has seen me back and forwards to the GP’s. My wound has become infected and needs dressing and obviously I have my ongoing catheter. Just had a call from my GP who has had results back from the swab they sent off and the antibiotics I was prescribed earlier today need to be changed. So another trip down there tomorrow to pick them up from the chemists. All a bit of a pain in the arse while I still can’t drive. A lovely assortment of people have given me lifts.(It cost me £10 round trip in a cab the other day) Thank you. Also thank you to the person who is picking my son up and taking him to school for me. You know who you are!!

Macmillan nurse rang today to see how I was getting on. She has spoken to Nick and he will be referring me to a Urology consultant to see what can be done about my bladder. The hope is that is just needs a little more time to rest and eventually it will kick back into life.

I am knackered continually. The day starts with the whole ‘Get the boy ready for school routine’ then it seems this week at least followed by a trip to the Doc’s. Add a shower, or a bowl of washing up, or cooking a dinner into the mix and that is about my limit for the day.

I did have a trip out into the ‘real world’ this week too which was lovely. A lunch and coffee’s in a local coffee shop. Was great to be out of these four walls!!! Thank you to that friend too.

I’ve been reading stories from other cancer people! (Cancerians?) It’s this time when it’s ‘all over’ that people find the hardest. Friends and family seem to think it’s all good and sorted. I mean, I don’t have cancer anymore right???

In fact the whole diagnosis, treatment part was a case of head down, plough through it. I got through it, with amazing humour and strength. Why? Because I had to.

Now I’ve left battered and wounded physically and emotionally and knackered.

Roll on spring!!!

One thought on “4 Week Post Op Update.

  1. Just been catching up … Sorry the bladder is still dodgy.
    Can’t believe its 4 weeks …where the hell did that go ?
    You don’t have cancer anymore but you have just been through a major op and you probably have a touch of post traumatic stress … I know I would have.
    Hard being a Mum and trying to recover as well.
    Be patient, be kind to yourself, try and rest as much as poss.
    Hugs
    Em xxx

Leave a Reply

