Recruiting a strong team.

Some people may think I’m bonkers doing this. It won’t be the first time people have thought I’m bonkers, and I’m sure it won’t be the last.

I can take the fact that I may have to turn around on Wednesday and say ‘Wahey, Everythings ok’ If I do, I will apologise for putting everyone through such worry. However if I have to turn around on Wednesday and say ‘I’m screwed’ (You see I would say ‘I’m fucked’ there, but I got a telling off today from my son for swearing. Monkey see – Monkey do) I will know that I am on well on my way to creating a very good strong team around me. I’m not very good at asking for help, but I’ve swallowed my pride for this and gone all out for it.

I am very lucky to have some medically trained people on my ‘team’ They are either friends of mine, or related/married to medics or in some cases both. They have ‘managed my expectations’ tonight. I know there are other things this could turn out to be, but as my appointment is with Oncology, rather than the GUM clinic (are they still called that) I don’t think I can walk too far down that much more preferable road. Gonorrhea being, in my mind, a better deal than Cancer. Not a sentence I ever thought I’d have to type that’s for sure!!

I know that supporting someone through illness is tough. If you are joining in for the ride please look after yourselves and each other.

This link is fantastic.

http://www.cancer.net/all-about-cancer/cancernet-feature-articles/family-friends-and-caregivers/supporting-friend-who-has-cancer

Lets really hope you don’t need it. x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

